The Caribbean Catastrophe Risk Insurance Facility (CCRIF) 2018 Masters Degree Scholarships

The Caribbean Catastrophe Risk Insurance Facility (CCRIF) 2018 Masters Degree Scholarships

Published:           5/10/2018 4:12:02 PM

Description:        The Caribbean Catastrophe Risk Insurance Facility (CCRIF) invites  applications for the Scholarship programme to pursue a Masters Degree in hazard/disaster related disciplines.

CCRIF Scholarship Programme

CCRIF Technical Assistance Programme provides a maximum of four (4) scholarships annually for students pursuing a Masters or an MBA programme in a number of pre-identified areas related to disaster risk management (see eligibility criteria) which are available at universities in the United Kingdom, United States and Canada and at eligible universities in the Caribbean, other than the University of the West Indies (UWI).

Eligible programmes include one-year Masters-level courses in the following areas which are available at eligible regional universities or at universities in the United Kingdom/United States/Canada (Eligible regional universities are accredited universities in any CARICOM member country or CCRIF Caribbean member country):

Disaster risk management (DRM)

Environmental management


Climate studies

Engineering with a disaster risk management component

Management studies with a risk management component

Environmental Economics


Actuarial science

Natural/physical sciences with a disaster risk management component

(Catastrophe) Risk Management

Property/Casualty Insurance

Other hazard/disaster related disciplines

Eligible programmes also include an MBA with a Major in risk management and/or insurance or a related field.

Online programmes available through eligible regional universities or at universities in the United Kingdom/ United States/Canada are also eligible for these scholarships.

The scholarships will be awarded to applicants who have demonstrated academic excellence, are involved in, or currently work in the field of risk/disaster management or sustainable development in the Caribbean and have a record of broader community involvement.

Preference will be given to:

individuals seeking to attend eligible regional universities

persons with supporting nominations from publically-funded (government) national or regional agencies whose mandates are specific to risk management, disaster management, meteorology, climate change, engineering or environmental management.

Eligibility Criteria:

Scholarship recipients must be citizens of CARICOM member countries and/or CCRIF member countries in the Caribbean.  (The CCRIF Scholarship Programme is not available to CCRIF member countries of Central America).

Applicants must  be holders of a Frist Class or Upper Second Class Honours Bachelor’s Degree (or have GPA of at least 3.0) in an area related to disaster risk management, environmental management, geography/geology, engineering, actuarial science or a related discipline and have some work experience.

Applicants must not already hold a postgraduate degree.


The scholarships are valued at a maximum of US$40,000 each (for universities outside of the region) or US$20,000 (for regional universities) and are specifically for those applicants who have gained admission to a Masters level programme or an MBA programme fitting the eligibility criteria presented above.

In the event that the CCRIF scholarship does not cover the total cost of attendance for a specified programme of study, the candidate will be required to demonstrate the availability of support funding to cover the entirety of the programme being considered.


Recipients must be registered full-time (except in the case of online programmes).

Recipients will be bonded to work in the Caribbean for a period of three years immediately after graduation.

Scholarships will not be awarded until a bonding agreement has been established and signed between the nominated scholarship recipient and the government of the respective country or other authorized institution and until all visa requirements have been met.

Recipients will be required to abide by a CCRIF Scholarship Code of Conduct that governs their interaction with CCRIF SPC and the University.

Recipients will be required to sign an agreement with CCRIF agreeing to the terms and conditions of the scholarship prior to the commencement of their programme.

Recipients who withdraw from the programme without good reason and the approval of the Academic Director, or who fail to complete the programme, will be required to repay the award.

Recipients are expected to achieve academic excellence and are required to ensure that grades are at least a Merit or B grade.

A report on academic performance will be required at select times within the academic programme.

Upon completion of the programme, recipients will be required to notify CCRIF SPC of their employment in the Caribbean at select times/intervals within the bonding period and as stipulated in the signed agreement.

Recipients who fail to complete the bonding period will be required to repay the award.


English is the offi¬cial lan¬guage of CCRIF and therefore all applications must be submitted in English.

Please note that applications must be submitted via the CCRIF online scholarship programme platform at: no later than May 31, 2018.

The guidelines for the scholarship application and additional information can be viewed in the Guideline Document (PDF) here .

The CCRIF Scholarship Application Form can be accessed here .

Please email: or call the HRD Unit at telephone numbers 468-5229/5230, if you require any further information or clarification.

Ministry:              Ministry of Education, Innovation, Gender Relations and Sustainable Development



sponsored advertisement
sponsored advertisement

Real Estate